The Golden Globes

Did you watch the Golden Globes?

I’m a bit late talking about this but I have to confess that I did not watch all of the awards ceremonies when they aired. Honestly, it did not hold my attention throughout.

Highlights for me include the Denzel Washington tribute and the funny, fun exchanges between him and his wife about the glasses. People who wear glasses will understand. I went to a premiere of a short I did called The Cameraman and I wanted to dress up fancy. I wear glasses and cannot wear contacts due to dry eyes.

I had to have my glasses to see any distance at all but I didn’t wanta wear em up on stage for the Q and A. I know, all is vanity. Anyway, I ended up holding them in my hands. If there had been a table to lay them on, I’d probably have forgotten my glasses too as I went to the stage.

I also loved Jim Carrey’s speech. I’m a metaphysical gal so I got what he was saying. Speaking of him, I am longing to see Jim Carrey as George Jones.

I had very mixed feelings about Revenant. I haven’t seen it but saw enough to know that those actors were roughing it in a very real sense. In other words, who needs to act cold when you are in freezing temperatures. I applaud their willingness to film in such terrible conditions … and I wonder if the result would have been the same in simulated winter. I always wonder about things like in films like that.

I know Emil Hurst faced true Alaska challenges to film Into the Wild. How much is acting and how much is the courage to put the body through something very challenging? I think about Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club …. Natalie Portman in Black Swan …

Leave a Reply

